By Juan Carlos Vasquez.

“A superior work in the electroacoustic idiom”

Matthew Sweeney, Foreign Accents

“A whirlpool of reaction and sensation, of legacy and private detail.”


Collages by Juan Carlos Vasquez




The “Collages” are an acclaimed series of experiments conducted to prove the digital capabilities of tone expansion in a single acoustic instrument. The technique consists in recording original performances of several works by celebrated composers from the past (for solo instruments), and reinventing the audio files de­constructing the pieces as a collage, using different and complex kinds of digital audio processes to create a post-modern electroacoustic version of the classical piece. As a result the usual acoustic instrument timber is expanded into deep and rich atmospheres using the entire range of frequencies. The collages series are also a sonic application of British painter JMW Turner’ technique to use layers of colours and textures to turn everyday landscape into powerful and expressive oneiric fantasies.

Side 1 (27:12, with 2-second gap between tracks) – 4 seconds of silence at the beginning / end

1. Collage 1 (After M. Mussorgsky) – 2:44
2. Collage 2 (After L.v. Beethoven) – 5:20
3. Collage 3 (After E. Ysaye) – 9:18
4. Collage 4 “Landscape” – 3:36
5. Collage 5 “The Acrobat” (After E. Satie) – 5:58

Side 2 (27:12, with 2-second gap between tracks) – 4 seconds of silence at the beginning / end

6. Collage 6 (After J.S. Bach) – 7:47
7. Collage 7 (After F. Chopin) – 11:13
8. Collage 8 (After J.S. Bach) – 4:14
9. Collage 9 (After J.L. Borges) – 2:06

Everything performed, recorded, mixed and mastered at JC Vasquez Studios, London, UK; with the exception of Collage 2 mastered by Silas Brown (Legacy Mastering) and Collage 5 “The Acrobat”, recorded at the Royal College of Music, London, UK.

Dedicated to Oxana Viritch

© 2014 Juan Carlos Vasquez

“Sibelius Collage” at the Ateneum Museum

Leave a Reply

Juan Carlos Vasquez - Composer, Sound Artist and Researcher